Genesis vs IB

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by pandabear, Mar 30, 2008.

1. I am looking to open a new account and wanted some feedback on Genesis or IB.

I will be primarily day trading on this account. System trading will be a big part of the daily trading process.

Need feedback on the following:

- Whose better at pricing?
    - Execution speed.
    - Better trading API?
    - Available Intraday leverage?
    - Better trading platform?
    - Support during downtime.

Thanks

2. pipboy

pipboy

I am not familiar with Genesis but I have several accounts at other futures houses. I have a small stock option account at IB. I must say they are awful for futures. Do not open with them. Their rates are attractive but the service will kill you and cost you money. The executions and the platform are also sub par.

I know IB is highly touted on this site but it is because these people do not know any better. I have been trading for over 10 years in electronic futures and I have had many accounts. I would trade options with IB but never futures again.

3. pipboy

pipboy

there is no service at IB. Open an account and you will see. That is why their rates are so low

4. Unfortunately, and this is a BIG problem in the industry right now, Genesis is not much better.
    Examples:
    I found a bug in their Excel interface of their platform. Documented it, TOLD THEM HOW TO FIX IT, and STILL they would not fix it. They told me to use their API instead.
    Now their API is not bad, but then I ran into another programmer who could not get STOP orders to work using the API. 3 weeks later, and the problem still has not been addressed, let alone fixed.

And you know what ?
    The list goes on:
    ESignal's API stinks.
    Tradestation, although powerful, has data feed problems....rendering all of that powerful programming....useless.