General Questions on Debit Vertical Spreads

Discussion in 'Options' started by raphaelg, Jan 16, 2012.

1. raphaelg

raphaelg

Hi everyone,

I am new to these forums and new to option trading. I have some knowledge in option pricing and understand the concept of implied volatility and some of the greeks (delta, gamma and theta). I want to start trading debit vertical spreads with a low cash balance becuase i really like the leverage that option trading provide. I have a few generic questions that i will love some pros to answer please.

1- How do I choose a good stock or index to trade on? (what are some TA indicators or any other thing you pros uses like IV vs HV to choose a good opportunity)

2- I understand that if i trade for example an ITM call bull spread i have a lower return but a higher chance of having a profit than trading an ATM spread or even an OTM spread. How do you guys decide when to trade an ITM or an ATM spread?(again some indicators)

Thanks for the help guys,

appreciate it

2. spindr0

spindr0

Options provide a variety of ways to profit (and lose) on your opinion of a stock. There are more complex strategies such as trading the delta or IV of of the options but that's for a higher pay grade right now :)

A "good stock or index" is one where you have some success at predictng its movement, or lack thereof.

TA indicators are backward looks in the rearview mirror. They have no predictive value. If anyone tells you otherwise, ask them to post their specific price entries and targets in real time

While you may really like the leverage that option trading provides, be very careful. Options are designed to take your money and they will if you don't have a firm understanding of their behavior, of the various strategies and of good money management. Forget the leverage. It's a double edged sword that shouldn't be used until you these abilities are second nature. Even then, you're gonna lose :)