General Margin Questions

Discussion in 'Options' started by VTTrader, Jan 14, 2012.

1. VTTrader

VTTrader

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to options and have been reading the various 'Options' threads with great interest. Amongst other things, I've learned that a vertical debit spread can bring with it the risk of a margin call should the short side temporarily be more valuable than the long (http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showt...t=vertical and spread and margin&pagenumber=1).

So, before I even think of trading, I had a couple questions of my own:

1) How often does the sort of temporary pricing imbalance mentioned in the cited thread actually occur? Is this relatively common, and does it typically trigger a margin call no matter the broker you use?

2) Assume that I have a credit vertical call spread of 10 contracts on the ever-popular company XYZ:

Sell Mar 50 Call @2.50
    Buy Mar 55 Call @1.50

Net credit of $1.00, which is applied to the $5 maintenance margin requirement for a net maintenance requirement of $4000.

Okay, assume underlying moves to 52 and I'm assigned (before expiration) on the short 50. Now I have a couple of choices:

1) Go out into the market and buy the shares to cover the short stock position. Hold the 55 calls, or sell them for whatever time premium I can get.

Or...

2) Exercise the 55 calls.

Now, you may think, why on earth would you exercise the long calls when you are going to pay $3 above current share price? And thus my question:

In choice (1) I must have sufficient cash to be able to purchase the stock to close my short position. However--if I understand this correctly--if I exercise my long calls as in choice (2) within one business day of assignment, I need not post additional margin, and the long call exercise offsets the short shares, netting a loss of $3/share, to be sure, but not requiring me to cough up $52,000 in cash to buy the shares outright.