GBP/USD newbie mistake, analysis needed!

Discussion in 'Forex' started by Huffles, Feb 26, 2011.

1. Huffles

Huffles

Hello, I'm new to EliteTrader and also to Forex :)

Thankfully I'm only playing around with toy money at the moment, otherwise yesterday my neighbours would have witnessed a computer and two monitors go flying out of my window (and maybe me with them).

Basically, after seeing the market dropping for the past 20 minutes and only taking a small profit, greed kicked in and I put in a whopping SHORT at 15:04 GMT. As far as I could tell, all my indicators were telling me it would still keep dropping. It turns out that this was probably the worst possible time I could have done this.

Foolishly I didn't have stops, and after the price started to go up and up, I sat there thinking: "Okay this is a blip, a glitch, it's going to go down again and everything will be okay.". Alright, I was wrong, and it cost me (again, toy money - phew!).

Today I'm trying to work out what I did wrong.

I'm mostly relying on MACD checking different timeframes from 1 min upwards. The only dubious one I could see was on 1M where there was some green histogram and the lines had crossed about 6 minutes earlier (I've attached a screenshot). However it wasn't changing a lot and I've seen that happen before on downtrend channels so I thought nothing of it. The other timeframes all seemed to show strong downtrends.

Sooo.. could I have forseen this? Could other indicators have told me what was about to happen? Help would be very appreciated :)

2. Jaba122

Jaba122

Hi Huffles, and welcome to EliteTrader.

Even when scalping, you should check the longer timeframes for possible Key Levels. please check the included screenshot. Here are a few things:
    1 - your short occurred close to the bottom of the channel (blue lines)