Gaming Industry

Discussion in 'Stocks' started by slavduja, Nov 1, 2008.

1. slavduja

slavduja

Just bought ATVI at $12.00 :D
    Wanted to see what some of you think of the video game makers as a longer term investment??
    Any feedback would be helpful, I am new to the investments world so take it easy!! LOL
    Their books look good.Increasing cash flow and earnings, massive merger with Blizzard which is a huge boost to revenue due to their online subscribers. Large international presence. Almost anywhere I have checked analysts have a strong buy on it which is great to see.
    Let me know if I am missing something??
    ERTS is looking awfully cheap, I am from Vancouver and have a pass to their Burnaby facilities , great place!!

2. AAA30

AAA30

Check you assumptions on this. I have not looked at this stock but when analysts are all leaning the same way it sets things up for the unexpected. My recomendation for you if this is a long term investment would be to read their last quarterly and yearly report and look for anything that they may have missed it may surprise you that they do miss items alot of the time. Then make your own assumptions on the future for the company and compare it to the analysts. I also live near the Burnaby location and yes it is cool but that alone does not make it a good investment at this time.

3. I think NVDA at 6 dollars would be a great long term investment. Basically its a company that should have no problem still being around in 10 years and is a market leader in graphics chips.

4. NVDA is being pushed out of its business by AMD and INTC. I can't see where this company is going unless they discover some miracle chip. Also, management seems pretty lousy.

5. mike007

mike007

NVDA makes graphic cards and AMD and INTC make processors. You know nothing. AMD owns ATI that makes graphics cards now but NVDA is far superior right now.

6. mike007

mike007