Futures trader

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by ENDOBO, Jul 28, 2019.

1. ENDOBO

ENDOBO

I am fairly new to futures but have a lot of experience with trading stocks, any recommendations to a new futures trader. The futures trading leverage seems to more profitable with a low investment. Stocks cost a lot with low return unless you're invested for a lengthy time or buy a crap ton of shares on a big move, like 10k shares or so. I am looking to trade futures as my primary trading, and want to know what everyone does when picking nitch, a news, commodity, financial? I am really good with tech analysis and understand patterns, supports resistance, so I dont really need help with any of that, just more so, what do you think I am missing? TIA for all the recommendations.

Commodity futures
    financial futures.

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

If I were starting out today, I would focus on Futures too. Don't assume "leverage seems to more profitable with a low investment," leverage works both ways. More leverage, more risk.

Start slow, nothing wrong with 1 lots or starting with smaller contract sizes.

3. fan27

fan27

I am getting some good results trading equity index futures (ES, NQ and YM) and finding opportunities to take advantage of their upward bias with a holding period of 1 to 10 days. Good luck!

4. Overnight

Overnight

Considering the large price swings we've been seeing for the last year or so, and especially with this week coming up, consider that you have a distinct advantage over others before you as you start your new adventure: The e-micros. I would suggest you stick with those for now, and formulate your trading plan on those. The lessons on what you did wrong will be much less painful as your experience with them develops.

Every TA and FA idea/influence/pattern that you see on the e-micros exactly matches the e-minis. They move in lock-step.