futures question number 2

Discussion in 'Trading' started by z32000, Aug 4, 2007.

1. z32000

z32000

Can someone please explain how the futures market actually benefits say for example the corn industry.

For example, say I was a farmer and I was able to round up about $10,000 worth of corn....

if I sold or purchased corn futures.... how do I actually benefit from this? Can it save me from overgrowing corn in the fall? Right now, all I can think of futures is just a gambling pit. I'm not so clear as to how does it benefit the actual industry.

2. LT701

LT701

it alows you to adjust your net position without adjusting your physical position

suppose you had all kinds of corn sitting on your farm, and you either didnt want to move it right now, or couldnt

and for whatever reason, you wanted to not have so much, without actually moving the physical corn

using futures, you could move to a net zero position, or any gradient of it

3. The futures contract allows the farmer to "hedge" the actual physical commodity that he is growing in the ground and has yet to harvest.

If he has commitments to sell his $10,000 worth of corn harvest to an end-user, but the yield from his crop is poor due to inclimate weather or insects, etc. - - - he is gonna wind-up being "short" of the amount of corn he has promised to his customer. With the futures contract, he has the ability to "hedge" the forward production of his crop and make good on his contract for 'X' amount of corn to be delivered to his customer. In similar fashion, the end-user can also "hedge" against the expected price rise due to poor yields by purchasing futures contracts so as to keep their cost down.