futures months

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by zelen99, Aug 11, 2011.

1. zelen99

zelen99

I am new to futures trading . I have a question about the months ...

what is the difference between the Sept and the Dec contracts . When you buy the Sept , what happens at expiration ? Do you need to sell or is it immediately switched over to the Dec .

If you have a bet on the direction 4 months from now , is it better to buy the Sept or the Dec ? What if you want to buy an option as insurance ?

2. mickmak

mickmak

Yikes... if you are asking these questions, you shouldn't be trading futures. Get out now.

Just to answer some of your questions:

re: is it better to buy the Sept or the Dec?
    Depends on the product, price, etc.

re: .. buy an option as insurance?
    You can trade the futures outright with an option leg. I believe this is provided - at least - by CME.

3. zelen99

zelen99

I am not in futures right now so there is nothing to get out of .

I am asking questions , that is all .

So , for the S&P 500 , if I have a 3-4 month outlook on the market , is it better to buy the Sept and switch to Dec later ? Is the switch over done automatically or does the trader have to watch it and do it manually ? How are the options handled in this case ?

4. mickmak

mickmak

There are more liquidity on the front month. Less so in the back months. Plus, you have the time premium in the back months. Rollover can happen automatically - done by your broker, or you gotta do it youself. Ask your broker on this. They should be able to tell you how roll over is executed or not at all.

For options, are you asking about options on the ES? Yes, you can buy/sell the options as a hedge. or just trade them outright. They are 2nd derivatives of SPY.