Futures Leverage?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by jonbig04, Jun 23, 2008.

1. Someone recently mentioned to me that futures are great to trade. One reason was b/c of the leverage involved. I know of course what leverage is, but I dont see how it pertains to futures trading.

2. :D

3. tortoise

tortoise

this is satire, right?

4. timbo

timbo

Paying variation in lieu of greater variance. Your answer?

5. The basics:

Equities:
    1 point = $1.00 .. you need money upfront to leverage

Futures (example ES):
    1 Point = $50 .. leverage is built in on each point.
    Contrct equals IndexValue x $50. So for evey contract you are exposed 1314 x $50 = $67,700.

6. Maybe i should have warned that im a complete futures noob.

Anyways I understand your math, however Im confused as to why that makes a difference in profitability. I guess a better way to state my question would have been "why does my friend, and probably some of you, think that higher leverage is 'better'?

Is it better if you dont have much to trade with?

If for some reason your making perfect trades do you make more money that you would if you were making perfect trades on stocks?

This is all a part of me trying to figure out what to trade.

If my questions don't make any sense, then maybe tell me why exactly YOU trade futures?

7. bkveen3

bkveen3

alright so you say you understand leverage but you cannot possibly understand leverage and not understand this.

Say you have $200 and you invest $100 in option A and option B

Option A - pure stock, goes up one point

outcome- you make one dollar

Option B - futures, goes up one point

outcome- you make fifty dollars

Which option was more profitable?