Futures Currency questions

Discussion in 'Trading' started by schulzey, Jun 23, 2012.

1. schulzey

schulzey

Hi everyone,
    I've been trading stocks for a few years and I thought I'd start learning as much as I can about Emini futures. I downloaded a demo program called firetip. I don't know much about forex and I've never traded futures or currencies.

When I talked to the broker they said they don't do forex but on the program there is contracts that you can trade called "Euro Currency (9/12 GLOBEX)" and "EuroDollar (9/12 GLOBEX)". I always thought that currencies had symbols like EUR/USD, etc. Are these something different, some sort of hybrid futures contract/currency or this Forex? One pip was equal to $12.50 (at 1.2576 last quote) so how much leverage is that?

These are total newbie questions, I don't know much about forex or futures yet. I have a basic understanding of futures and I do understand how E-Minis work.

Thanks for all the help!

2. hey shulzey, I see you are at it again. That's good, asking questions. If you figure it down to the penny, the futures are cheaper than spot. The problem is you can only move a minimum of 125k at a time in the futures. That can be a high price to learn how the deal works.

3. I like you, but I'm beginning to have my doubts. If you are serious, you should be googling until you are blue in the face. Especially on a Saturday/Sunday. By now you should have read everything on the CME site at least twice, until you understand it.

you should have already read everything posted on ET about futures vs spot

I don't know what it is with you kids today, you say you want it, but you don't want it bad enough to work for it