Futures Broker Recs

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by ChiPitbull06, Oct 19, 2010.

1. I've been a trader for the past few years (since college graduation in '05) and I'm currently in a crossroads in my career. I started off in day-trading equities and have moved over to futures in the past 2 years. I've been successful, given the how the markets have operated but I feel like I should get a better idea of what's out there as far as futures brokers and see if I can find a better rate and quality firm. I've been overwhelmed trying to read posts myself and figured I'd just post my own question to get the answers I need. I'd be interested to hear any recs of brokers and/or any good/bad experiences traders have dealt with. I've had my short run-ins with shady firms and just want to eliminate the BS.

Thanks

2. chartman

chartman

Who are the 'shady' firms you have had dealings with? You can post your comments on http://www.elitetrader.com/br and forewarn other traders.

3. RobertG

RobertG

I have been through a few brokers. I don't want to bad mouth anybody and I don't think you should either. But I will tell you where other brokers have failed:

1) putting me on a platform they know nothing about
    2) quoted me commissions and when I received the statement they told me I did not meet the minimum, therefore more "fees"
    3) When I had to call support they never knew who I am and waiting time was too long ( these were the big guys).

Not too long I have moved to Optimus Trading Group.
    I am only a part time trader and they have been very supportive.
    When I called the broker walked me through all the platforms and told me the cost for each one upfront. I have chosen Rithmic with Ninja.
    The rate that was promised had an error on the first day, I called, they reimbursed the error within 24 hours and my rate never changed since then regardless of my trading. I am a VERY picky guy.