Futures broker recommendation?

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by kuhnbt, Jan 17, 2017.

1. kuhnbt

kuhnbt

Hi there, I'm a fairly experienced stock trader and looking to add the ability to trade s&p emini futures occasionally to hedge without tying up much capital. Unfortunately my discount brokerage doesn't offer futures trading.

So can anyone recommend a good futures brokerage that is low cost and won't charge me fees for inactivity? I looked at IB and think they will waive any inactivity fees with over 100k in assets, but looks like they will charge exchange data access fees every month (not sure if I'm reading that right). Are there really low cost futures brokers that are similar to scottrade or tradeking with stocks?

Thanks

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

We can offer Stock DT with accounts over $25,000
    We can offer Futures accounts starting at $25,000
    You can trade them both from Realtick, but they are separate accounts and Realtick will cost $100/month or more plus Market Data
    We pass through Market data fees. I think ES is $40/month.
    We don't have inactivity fees for futures account at any level or equity accounts over $15,000.

3. MattZ

MattZ Sponsor

We can offer you a number of platforms https://optimusfutures.com/Futures-Trading-Platforms.php where some of them are free, feature rich and include charting and execution.

Since you are using web based execution consider also the New TT https://www.tradingtechnologies.com/platforms/tt-platform/

I would be more than happy to assist you chose a platform and a futures clearing firm based on your specific criteria. These are the FCMs we are working with https://optimusfutures.com/Futures-Commodities-Trading-Account.php

Thanks you,

patrickrooney likes this.
  4. CBC

CBC

Do you want to park all your money in 1 account? Or it doesn't bother you to have all ur $$ spread across different accounts?

MattZ likes this.
  5. kuhnbt

kuhnbt