Futures Broker - Arbitration Agreement

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by BoyBrutus, Jul 20, 2008.

1. On the broker documentation there is this arbitration agreement, it also says a customer does not have to sign this.

What is your advice guys, I have no knowledge of these matters.

TIA

Arbitration Agreement

Customer voluntarily agrees to submit any dispute with FuturesRUs to binding arbitration. If a
    dispute arises, Customer will be given a choice of three qualified arbitration forums when
    Customer notifies FuturesRUs that he intends to submit a dispute to arbitration or when FuturesRUs
    notifies customer that it intends to submit a dispute to arbitration. Customer must notify
    FuturesRUs by registered mail of his choice of arbitration forum within forty-five days after
    receiving the list of three arbitration forums. If Customer fails to notify FuturesRUs of his choice
    within that time, then FuturesRUs may choose the arbitration forum that will resolve the dispute.
    FuturesRUs agrees to pay any incremental fees that may be assessed by the forum chosen by
    Customer for the provision of a "mixed panel" of arbitrators, unless the arbitrators determine that
    Customer has acted in bad faith in initiating or conducting the proceedings. Judgment upon any
    award rendered by the arbitrators may be entered in any court having jurisdiction thereof.
    THREE FORUMS EXIST FOR THE RESOLUTION OF COMMODITY DISPUTES:
    CIVIL COURT LITIGATION, REPARATIONS AT THE COMMODITY FUTURES
    TRADING COMMISSION (“CFTC”) AND ARBITRATION CONDUCTED BY A SELFREGULATORY
    OR OTHER PRIVATE ORGANIZATION.
    THE CFTC RECOGNIZES THAT THE OPPORTUNITY TO SETTLE DISPUTES BY
    ARBITRATION MAY IN SOME CASES PROVIDE MANY BENEFITS TO
    CUSTOMERS, INCLUDING THE ABILITY TO OBTAIN AN EXPEDITIOUS AND
    FINAL RESOLUTION OF DISPUTES WITHOUT INCURRING SUBSTANTIAL
    COSTS. THE CFTC REQUIRES, HOWEVER, THAT EACH CUSTOMER