Future and Opportunity of Investment Banking

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by rmurphy00, Nov 17, 2008.

1. rmurphy00

rmurphy00

Hello,
    My name is Ray Murphy. I'm a sophomore student at Emory University in Atlanta, working towards a major in Finance and International Business (typically a secondary major) and a minor in Statistics (if I can finish - I'm not so sure).

I was hoping to go into the Investment Banking. Many of my ex-Senior friends from last year and 2- years ago were swallowed up by various eager banks upon graduation. Their employers were mostly Bear, Wachovia, Suntrust, JP Morgan, Goldman, etc - with a few more other regional employers such as Coca-Cola, record companies, etc. Those who went to Wall Street, and even those who went to Suntrust, Wachovia, etc. all got sweet jobs - mostly as analysts. Some of 2nd years claimed to be well north of $150K - with no end in sight. Needless to say, many of them got laid off. To tell you the truth, I have lost contact with most of them (abandoned FaceBooks, emails unreturned, phone numbers have become "this phone number does not exist..."). Those who kept their jobs complain of being totally ragged out, of a horrible CYA work environment, and are not so assured of their "no-end-in-sight" salaries anymore. In fact they seem to have adopted more of an "I hope I keep this salary" type of attitude.