Funding the Trade Account

Discussion in 'Trading' started by TraderZz, Jul 11, 2010.

1. I'm going to stick to mainly facts here... I would tell my story but I'm sure it would be similar to most guys who the trading thing has "clicked" for.

It's taken me around 5 years, and 2 small blown accounts. I decided at the last one that the next time I'm going live will be it. Went to drawing board, backtested for several months. Got some setups that worked. Front tested them for 1 year now. Tracked my setups in and out statistically and doing some optimization currently.

I have a profitable strategy, but no capital. I am a recent graduate at 22 years old and am currently working parttime. I have the option of having parents take out loan but they are not in most solid financial situation so im looking for alternatives. I have a tradestation account with sim results, but lots of wacky stuff happens on TS sim and its very unreliable as far as a track record. Lets say we can use it though if someone has creative ideas as far as going to an investor or lender.

My job allows me to trade RTH and work fulltime to acquire capital. If it comes down to the longest solution, I will simply continue to work till I have a minimum of $30,000 dollars saved up. I trade index futures and a fixed 1%.

I've gone through many options in my mind and am very patient for whatever solution comes to me. If any ET members have been here before and have some nice suggestions I would appreciate it. I have only recently acquired a steady income, I would be willing to do personal or small business loans, anything else that it takes. It will take me roughly till January to earn the money myself so I am willing to do that, but I am ready for live trading as of now.

Thank you everybody have a wonderful evening.

2. If your strategy is truly profitable, why wait for $30000 to start? Many futures firms let you trade index futures with only a few thousand dollars margin.