Fundamental currency analysis , is it worth it?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by Defactotrading, Jan 4, 2021.

How useful is fundamental analysis for currency trading?

1. Extremely useful

5 vote(s)
    71.4%
  2. Semi useful/Not useful at all

2 vote(s)
    28.6%
  1. Hello everyone

I have been trading for roughly 2+ years and am exploring various methods of incorporating fundamental analysis into my trading.

I am more than familiar with the appropriate drivers of a currency (economic performance of GDP, Inflation, IR, CB expectations, geopolitical risk) and was wondering whether anyone has found any particular aspects to be most helpful (such as a filter checklist) or whether the entire endeavor is useless as the market may have already priced in the information and/or be focusing/being used for another aspect entirely.

Lastly are there any useful quantitative sentiment analysis tools as these seem to be the primary cause of opportunity (as it may cause the price to move against the underlying fundamentals).

Cheers

2. Bomp

Bomp

Real Rates and Terms of Trade I think have a big influence on currencies.

3. tomorton

tomorton

I trade forex long-term (2-5 days holding periods on average) off the D1 charts and have found all relevant FA is contained within the charts. A while ago I did find that I was personally interested in economics and geo-politics so I read up on it quite a bit - but it did nothing for my trading decisions.

Defactotrading likes this.
  4. Central bank policy in the context of fiscal policy/economic situation/relative performance will help you understand the trend in the mid-term. In the short run, funding decisions by corps, gov't, and such (e.g. balance of payments) moves the market. "Spot check" on a chart, but 99% of your analysis should be information driven.

You can't know what's going on in an asset by looking at price. You can compare price to what you know to figure out if there is value.

Defactotrading likes this.