Full Time Traders Where do you Put Cash?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by sophiekay, Feb 1, 2009.

1. This question is for Full Time Trader's ONLY. Now that Fed has dropped rates, Where do you put your cash for best returns? I am a full time trader looking for a place to get good returns on cash without worrying about bank going under.

Looking at Everbank, WTDirect, etc.

Thanks.

2. seadog

seadog

Take 50% of cash put in government issues. 50% back into your trading program. (if you are a believer)

3. Thanks seadog. Gov issues might be a perfect solution. As long as I avoid the IOUs being paid by the state fo California. (LOL). thanks again!

4. hadtough life, you may have a legitimate point. If you are suggesting that I TRADE 100% of all of my investable assets with no money management rules in place, this is actually a legitimate argument.

However, I decided it would be prudent to keep some cash on the side. That way if I ever blow out, there is a plan B. Thanks for your input.

5. Debt Certificates aka Treasurites. If you want higher returns buy foreign government bonds (denominated in EUR, NZD, AUD, etc.) Of course, then you incur currency risk if you live in the U.S.

6. I REALLY like the Foreign Gov Bonds suggestion. Although there are inherent risks, it can also be a hedge which is exactly what I'm looking for. Thank you!

7. Exactly. If done correctly, it can be an excellent hedge while at the same time be a fairly low risk interest gaining vehicle.

Especially in what could become a ZIRP world, any long term certificates could grow nicely in value. However, as always, if you are only interested in the interest, hold short term certs which are less volatile. Stay away from corporate bonds unless you know what you are doing (AAA means very little these days).