From Prop to ------

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by kamdooo, May 12, 2005.

1. kamdooo

kamdooo  

Many people have told me that prop trading on a resume is death. You don't want it to cross-over into any other field because HR doesn't like it.

I wonder, because I have no experience with this. I have my doubts though:

I'm going to clarify something just for this thread....I don't believe it to be true necessarily....but just so there is no confusion.

prop trading = there absolutely must be a salary. If you can't report a salary to a future employer, thats not good. Examples are Mako, Optiver, DE Shaw, DRW, ect...

arcade trading = no salary, maybe a draw. Places like Assent, Echo, Bright,
    ect.

1) I can buy the fact that being a self employed trader or remote arcade trader doesn't impress anyone, even if you make cash.

2) I can't buy the fact that working at a place with a salary doesn't get respect.

Lets put it this way. People don't really no jack shit about hedge funds. If you wanted to work at a marketing firm, and you said you worked at a random hedge fund, they would have no idea whether that was a good thing or bad. How can they judge?

My feeling is that if you have an ivy education or some other bs, then you could trade at an arcade and cross-over into another profession, not trading related.

My hunch is that alot of arcade shops atrract people who don't meet pedigree requirements....my point is that when i went to a few prop shops, i wasn't exactly impressed by the schools attended. Even at a place with a salary i just visited, nothing to brag about. (south western institute of automotive repair state)

So it could just be that prop/arcade trading attracts people with less shiny bs on their resume. Or maybe hr just doesn't like traders unless they come from a place like UBS.

I just can't believe that a trader from DE Shaw has a difficult time taking someone elses job, say in marketing or brokering...