From poker player to stock trader.

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by RYL, Apr 1, 2005.

1. RYL

RYL

I found this place out by looking at the archives in twoplustwo.com (a popular forum for serious poker players). There was a poster who was a member of twoplustwo.com and a member at Elite Trader.com who suggested to take a look at this post---> http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?threadid=12455.

To give you a brief history on myself, I've been a winning poker player since November, 2004. I'm currently making $300/ hr. playing 4-tabling 1000NL at Party Poker. I play poker only for one reason and one reason only, to make money. I've also been a stockbroker for about 1 and 1/2 years so I have some general knowledge on stocks.

Some people might be saying to themselves, "This guy's making 300/hr. Why would this guy want to be a trader?" There's many reasons.

1. The richest trader is more wealthier than the richest poker player. There's several multi-millionaire traders. I'd be hard pressed to find even the best cash poker player professional with a net worth of 50 million if not 25 million.
    2. To say you're a poker professional is looked down upon the general population because it's viewed as gambling(which it is, but people don't realize poker can be +EV).
    3. I want to tell people I trade stocks for living and can make money doing so!
    4. From 9am-4pm, poker table are generally tough so usually during those times I can trade stocks, and after 4pm I can play poker.

The only problem is, I don't know even where to start. I have $35,000 saved up and I'm willing to put up $5000 this year to trade. Is there any books or websites you guys strongly recommend for someone like me who doesn't know where to begin? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks in advance, and I hope everyone makes a nice six or seven figure payday this year!!:D

2. Weasel

Weasel