Frequent cancelling of limit orders

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by movingslow, Jun 12, 2020.

1. I'm new to trading and especially automated/algorithmic trading. However, I have some programming skills and have been thinking about experimenting with some strategies.

A couple of questions regarding rules/law:

First, can one place a limit order to buy a stock, cancel the order quickly if it does not get filled, and then immediately place a new limit buy order at a slightly different price? Are there any rules to how often this repeated cancelling and placing can be done? The purpose of this procedure would be to get a liquidity adding limit order to be executed as quickly as possible (i.e. at a better price than current ask).

Extrapolating the above, is it legal for a retail trader to program a system that automatically places limit orders, cancels them shortly and/or adjusts them as needed?

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

It would be better to create an add only order with a limit.

murray t turtle likes this.
  3. Tradex

Tradex

You mean a "fill or kill" order?
    Sure, of course, more info here for example:
    https://www.investopedia.com/terms/f/fok.asp

Last edited: Jun 12, 2020
  4. Not really, because I might need to cancel the order and place a new at a slightly higher/lower level if I need the order to be executed quickly. I would think it is more like trying multiple times to get the order filled at different levels.

For example,
    Current bid/ask is at 100/101.
    -> First place a buy order at 100.1.
    -> Wait x seconds
    -> If order not filled, cancel original order, place a new one at 100.2
    -> Wait x seconds
    -> If not filled, cancel, and place a new one at 100.3
    -> Etc.

Are there any rules to how frequently the above type of procedure can be done?
    Would it be ok to build a system that does this automatically for several stocks during a day?

Last edited: Jun 12, 2020
  5. Tradex

Tradex