Fraudulent Behavior Button Trader

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by jtTrader, Dec 4, 2007.

1. jtTrader

jtTrader

Fraudulent Behavior Button Trader

I have been a Button Trader user, but recently I have been swing trading and cancelled (I thought) my Button Trader subscription.

I received an email from PayPal notifying me that another subscription payment had been sent to Button Trader. I immediately informed Button Trader that I did not want the service, and forwarded the same information to PayPal. My PayPal account also shows a cancellation of the subscription service.

The response from Button Trader was “no refund” even though they were informed immediately and I have not used the product in a few months. They claimed they sent “warning” emails, but none were received. If so, I would have acted on it. Basically I paid for something I am not using, and it’s a forward license (next 3 months) so they have lost nothing. A reputable business would just refund your money. Had I waited a week or a month, I could understand, but this I cannot understand.

Why they would want to collect $100 and lose me as a customer forever, I have no idea, but this is what they have done.

I also plan to cancel my PayPal account. I do not see how I can prevent this from happening again.

A warning to others about Button Trader, and subscription payments in general.

2. Paypal does not offer the same protection as a credit card account. If your Paypal account was linked to a credit card rather than a bank account you can dispute the charge through your credit card company.

3. RL8093

RL8093

The few times I've needed assistance w/ a dispute, the credit card companies have been helpful. During one dispute with a vendor who would not give up (Quicken), the card company did ask me to write up my version of what took place (w/ any supporting documentation). No problem - I provided info and Visa told Quicken to pound salt.

R