Fractal Analysis?

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by youngtrader, Sep 1, 2007.

1. Can anybody explain what this is and how traders use it in the markets? Is it the same thing as chaos theory and what is that? Sorry about all the newbie questions but I would like to know more about these stratagies.

2. I am not an expert on any of this but I have done some reading on these subjects as i find them interesting myself. From what I have found I dont think there is any kind of huge edge you can get from these subjects in the markets but that is not to say that they are useless. I think they could give you a usefull prospective if you were to build your own paradigm on them.

A fractal is basically a geometrical shape that always has more detail when you zoom into a smaller part of it (think of acumulation markup distribution decline on a scale of decades then years then days hours etc). How does this make you money? I have no idea.. since the markets are not deterministic in their iterations on the smaller scale i dont know how this would give you any predictive value. Maby you could build a theory that microscopic price action will have a greater probability of reflecting recent macroscopic price action?

This is the guy who started fractal analysis. It is interesting because he also did some work in economics

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BenoƮt_Mandelbrot

Chaos theory (i think) is basically dealing with functions that are so VERY dependant on initial conditions that a VERY small change can give you completly different results. Basically the results are deterministic (non random) but you would need an infinite amount of accuracy to calculate the output. I dont know enough about chaos theory to give any idea of how you would make money using it (I think it would probably be based on finding out somehow what the output is statistically more probable of being given a range of input values that are close but not perfect).

3. slacker

slacker