Forward Curve on Currency question

Discussion in 'Trading' started by FastandFurious, Nov 6, 2007.

1. how do we get the forward curve on currency, and how far out does it go?

2. rosy2

rosy2

you can get the prices for FX futures and plot them against expiration dates.

3. thank you for the reply, can you elaborate that? From what I've read, there are arb uses, and the common rate is the LIBOR? What uses does the currency curve have? I'm just trying to put everything together. Thanks!

4. i'm new to the forward curves, anyone able to explain?

5. If you had access to the interbank market you could get a forward priced to any date you like. The value is a simple calculation based on spot plus / minus the carry to that date. Futures are just standardized forwards.

6. thank you for the response, I'm just learning this so please excuse my ignorance.

what are the standard months? I am specifically interested in currency forwards and in my research I see typical 1 month, 3 month, and something to do with LIBOR. What are some typical applications of forwards in terms of arb, hedge?

7. anyone else?

8. Standardized contracts ie. Futures are on the quarters of each year MAR, JUN, SEP and DEC. Forwards on the other hand can be priced to any day you want. Obviously the further out in time you go the wider the market in the forward.

Just as an example if you wanted a 60 day forward in something like USD/YEN you would use spot USD/YEN and then calculate the swap based on the appropriate rate for each currency over that time.

OTC Currency options, which is the largest market in the world for currency options are not standardized in terms of contract specs. You can trade for expiration/settlement for any non weekend/holiday date. In order to correctly hedge the delta and rho of those options you'll need to do a currency swap or forward otu to that settlement date.