Forex vs. Stocks

Discussion in 'Forex' started by baillirw, Jan 12, 2006.

1. baillirw

baillirw

I've been trading stocks for a few months now (mostly paper) and I'm starting to get enticed by FOREX. My question is how similar are these two systems? What I mean by this is can I use the same techniques on FOREX as I use with stocks, or are the two completely different? Also, is it possible to swing trade FOREX like stocks or a trades usually long term trends.

2. JCLFX1

JCLFX1

jimrockford is the only resident forex expert on Elite Trader because he never trade it and he never had demo acount. Do not listen to any one but him and he will show you the way.

3. gkishot

gkishot

Good thing about forex brokers is that almost each one of them offers demo account (Oanda's demo accounts do not expire) so one can try out his strategy for a while before trading live.

4. Sheach

Sheach

I use to trade stocks and then switched to forex as it just looked like it had so many advantages. 24hr market, nice trends, very few gaps, low entry costs, leverage etc etc etc. All looks pretty good on paper and I even traded forex fulltime for a year.

Well now I am back in the work force and back trading stocks. It didn't work out for me, mainly due to lack of consistency and a few other reasons. I also found that I was screen watching a lot more. Back in my comfort zone now where the stress levels are down and I'm not glued to the screen.

I'm not saying that forex is a bad thing to trade, just warning you that it is not as easy as it looks, well not for me anyway. I'm sure there are plenty of successful forex traders out there but I don't know of too many, but I do know of plenty of successful stock traders. Good luck with it all. Cheers.

5. debud

debud

I like Forex, if your talking about technicals its very similar to stocks and futures. And it is easier to swing trade than scalp a few pips here and there if you want to be in for the long run,