Forex vs. Other Markets

Discussion in 'Forex' started by redbull13, Oct 16, 2006.

1. Hey Fellas,

Alright, I started trading when I was 16. I'm now 20, and since then I've traded stocks, futures, options on futures and forex. I've never day-traded and I never plan to. I feel much more comfortable swing trading. Recently I've been starting to realize some new things - most of them psychological. The most important thing I've realized is that becoming constistently profitable is TRULY one of the, if not the, most difficult task I will ever accomplish in my life. I think this is true all around. I opened my new forex account with FXCM about a month and a half ago. Since then I've had my ups and downs. Right now my account is down about 50% - it was a pretty small account to start with. What I've noticed is that my calls are generally pretty good, however, I can't make money on them. Forex seems to have lots of seemingly random swings that generally aren't in my favor. I would defintely say it's the most challenging market I've traded. How do others feel about this? How did you become profitable? Thanks.

2. faure

faure

If you're trading with FXCM that mean you're probably trading mini lots ($10 000) which, if your account is any less than $5000, is waaay too much. Trade smaller.

3. ddunbar

ddunbar Guest

I think the best way to trade forex is to pick a session and only trade that session.

For instance: EUR/USD

There are several sessions but the most liquid sessions are the European/NY overlap. 7AM to 11AM EST. Then be flat @ 11AM or let a move ride out until 2PM EST or before if you get a signal to exit.

Of course you will need to keep abreast of news release days and times as this will increase volatility.

Or you could trade the 12PM - 5PM session which is generally calm and trending. Lends itself well to swing trades. But you'll have to be flat @ 5pm.