FOREX newbie has questions.

Discussion in 'Forex' started by fx255, Oct 28, 2005.

1. fx255

fx255

Hey all,

I'm very new to this, and I have a few questions that I hope others here with experience and wisdom can answer.

1. I just funded a regular FOREX account. I've had a demo. account that I've done quite well on. Should I continue to use the same strategies or is there something about the demo that's different. What I mean to say is that is the demo a different ballgame for traders since there is no real money and thus more risk is taken???

2. Most brokers like FXCM, Refco, etc. have similar PIP spread (i.e. 3-5 PIPs on most pairs), but then I hear about brokers like Onada which have only 1.5 PIP spreads. How are such small spreads possible, and what are the drawbacks, if any of using a broker like Onada as opposed to FXCM??

3. For overnights, is the interest rate calculation different at every brokerage house? I thought it was supposed to be the interest rate differentials between central banks, and if you're long you get interest, short you pay, but it seems every house has their own system. Please enlighten me on this.

4. What are some good books to read up on to give more insight into FOREX trading, and what magazines do you guys recommend?

Thank you.

2. Wallet

Wallet

Fx225,

1. Demo accounts and live accounts should act the same mechanically , actually you’ll probably find your live account’s charting/software works better. While the demo account is a great way to work on the mechanics of your trading plan it will not prepare you for the emotional side of trading, which imho is the whole ballgame. Take it easy at first do not over trade.

2. Don’t worry so much about the spread, pick a broker that you can trust and you feel will be there tomorrow.