Forex for small accounts

Discussion in 'Forex' started by Tomaz26, Nov 6, 2008.

1. Tomaz26

Tomaz26

Hi,

I would like to start trading in FOREX but with very limited size, so I dont blow up a lot of money. Can you recomend some good brokers that offer lower than 1 USD per pip trading? Like 0.10 per pip or something like that. All I know of is Oanda but I read some terrible reviews here so I dont think they are the best choice.

Also how about currency futures. They offer cheaper way. Are those liquid enough? I have EURODOLLAR in my thinkorswim option, and it states that this requires 1500 USD margin. How does this compare to trading forex.

Sorry if my question are stupid but I am new in this field. I have only traded stocks and ETFs and options until now so I have no experience in futures or forex. I dont have 25.000 USD so I can only daytrade 3 times in 5 days because of PDT rule. So to get rid of this I would like to try futures or forex ..

thanks for help guys

Tomaz

2. craig

craig

you need to open up a margin account then you can day trade with less than 25K, i dont think your going to find a broker with spreads that low though.

3. Oanda. You can trade $0.01/pip and even smaller. I think you only need a $1 to open a live account.

Oanda is your best choice. The bad reviews all stem from traders who don't know how to trade and blame the broker for their troubles, etc.

4. Bickz

Bickz

You can try MB Trading. 1,000 in base currency is their minimum.

http://www.mbtrading.com/fx/default.asp

Or FXCM's micro lot account. (I don't know if you can trade 1,000 in base currency with their regular account or not, but you can with a micro lot account.) Currently they have a CNBC promo where you sign up and they give you $25 to start.

http://www.forexmicrolot.com/cnbc.jsp