For those that make their living

Discussion in 'Options' started by steve0580, Nov 28, 2005.

1. For those that make their living as a trader, I'm curious as to which vehicle you use most to do so and also, the type of trader you are.

For instance,
    Trading stocks and futures?
    Only stocks?
    Only options?
    Only futures?

Method:
    Fundamental
    Technical analysis
    Short term or long term trader

Thanks in advance.

2. i trade 98% options on stocks. 2% index options. i trade 90% front month options. if there is any running theme to my trading it is "buy the wings and sell the meat." by that i mean that i mostly trade positions that look like butterflies with curvature at the wings (extra wing units which means i never have "black swan" types of risk). i day trade and scalp a lot against this core type of position. i risk about 1%-3% on any single position and can risk up to 25% on my net positions.

igr likes this.
  3. This is exactly what I'm looking for. I'm a rank amatuer just trying to make a bit of money on the side but it is encouraging to me to know that some people are actually talented enough to make a living working from the privacy of their own home.

After reading pit bull by Marty Schwartz, it seems that you are both walking down a similiar path because he made his living trading options for some time before moving into futures.

Let me ask about the "extra wing units". Are you trading butterflies with a short time until expiration? When you say extra curvature and front month, I take this to mean that you concentrate on positions with high gamma?

I'm not familiar with the "black swan" type of risk you mention. Even with extra curvature, how can you reduce your risk so much that you wouldn't be hurt too badly if you had a position that had high implied volatility which suddenly collapsed?