Foot-in-the-Door Advice/Help?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by TheoCap, Nov 22, 2006.

1. TheoCap

TheoCap

Hey all. I'm a 21 year old undergraduate student majoring in Economics and Theology. Upon graduating this spring, I plan on pursuing my dream of becoming a trader.

I feel like I am extremely qualified for an entry-level, trader's assistant-like position. I have great grades from a very exclusive college, leadership experience, and one (soon to be two) internship experience(s). More importantly, I have extensive history (5 years) trading my own account as well as one year managing a limited investment partnership which I founded (up 30.1% YTD).

However, I have had little luck gaining the interest of employers.

Thanks again. I really appreciate your time. I love the site and really respect you guys who post on here.

2. Hint #1 - Don't post your email address/home address on public forums.
    Hint #2 - There is another thread for people who want to become traders. You should visit that thread.

3. 1. Why are you not pursuing a position with the firm where you did your summer internship? If it is because it's in wealth management instead of trading, why would you think your background is better suited to trading rather than a client-facing role (hint: your background is better suited to wealth management than trading)? What makes you think trading is a better area of the financial markets to get into (hint: it's not...my wealth management friends are the ones with the yachts)?

2. You say you are developing a model for a hedge fund. Why won't they give you a job and some capital to trade?

4. Your cover letter is too long and too emotional. You come across like the Rudy of trading.

With that being said, everything else looks fine. Be patient. Most employeers probably want someone that can start asap. Unless you are applying to Goldman, etc., must funds or banks do not hire this far out.

5. dac8555

dac8555

OK mate here it is....