Following or Predicting

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by Miragers, Oct 6, 2006.

1. I have used TA for many years now in trading and always wondered which method truly works. Do you use TA and charts to tell you what direction a market is going and then go along for the ride until direction changes or do you use TA and charts to predict where it will be in the future and try to get ahead of that move.

I have tried both ways and failed at the second miserably the first time around. Since then I have only used TA to show me what is happening and go with the trend. I dont listen to the news so that I dont bring any bias to the trade based on what I think this news may or may not do to price. I have been consistently profitable with this method ever since I started trading again.

What do you guys think? Which way works for you? Do you think that most successful traders use TA to show them what is happening or do they use it to speculate on the future? Will TA ever stop working because some believe its a "self fulfilling prophecy"?

2. I would think that more people would be interested in this thread since we all use one form of TA or another.

3. I trade a combination of both.

I enter positions as a prediction of a new movement which I will be vested to and thus following. I also enter trades following current movements in a prediction they will continue.

4. Like you, I have never been good at the predicting thing.

I was TA as a tool to help visualize direction, and to help with timing. I will typically look for the 3-Wave type of move (Initial Swing Wave - Reaction Wave - Final Impluse Wave).

The Initial Swing Wave will typically show the direction. I will wait for the Reactiion or short term retracement move, and then trade the Impulse Wave which usually will be in the same direction and magnitude of the Swing Wave.