Flat out 2006

Discussion in 'Journals' started by 40yotrader, Dec 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I'm done for the year so I'm setting up my journal to track my goal for 2006. My goal is simple. Start with 325k and grow it to at least 825k in 2006 (after comm. but before taxes). Most of it will come from compounding. I have enough saved to cover the taxes for the year. My reason for going all out is simple. My edge is dying and I think this may be the last year it'll work. I daytrade ES using volatility breakouts. It'll work as long as the average daily range on ES is 7 pts. or better. For all of 2005 the average range for ES was 12 pts. I think it's going to contract some more in 2006 and if the NYSE extends the trading day it probably will reduce the daily range further. I'm a mecha trader so I don't have any profound analysis for anyone to read. I've split the trading into two parts to speed up processing in Tradestation. The first tells me if I have a trade for the next day. If I have a trades, I update 3 models and tell them to look for trades that day. They run on 1 min. data and use stop orders to get in and out of trades.

I'm think of opening another account to trade options so I'm going to post my paper trades on options here to keep track of the results.

Futures

No trades tomorrow

Options

Short Jan 1255 call 12.00
    Short Jan 1250 put 10.00

Good luck to everyone in 2006.

43yotrader

2. Looks like it's going to be a boring start to 2006. Models don't indicate a trade for Tuesday so I'll be sitting around again.
    Today's entire range happened in 20 min. near the end of the day and was only 7.25 pts. Just the kind of market the models try to avoid.

For most of the day the option trade was 1 - 1.5 pts. profitable. When the move happened the profit in the spread evaporated. I guess that's from sentiment.

Futures (real money)

No trades

Options (paper money)

SPX

closed out Jan 1255 call @8.90 (+3.10 profit)