First short trade (pic)

Discussion in 'Trading' started by IronFist, Jan 19, 2007.

1. So yesteray (on my birthday, no less) I made my first short sale. I did it at work, on my lunch, so I only had a little bit of time to watch the market. Remember, I'm still an intraday noob.

I was drawing in trend lines (channels?). It looked like it was trending down the last channel I have on there, so at $19.15 I decided to short and cover at $19.10.

13:58:33 – Sell short @ $19.15

As soon as I shorted it started to go back up (you can see the green candles). I was like "yeah, with my luck, my first short would immediate go against me."

But I waited it out and it started to drop. It wavered between 19.13 and 19.15 for a while, and then between 19.13 and $19.11. At $19.10 I sold, and seriously 2 seconds later it was at $19.07. Oh well.

14:22:20 – Buy to cover @ $19.10

My lunch was over, but it continued to drop. And then today it was in the $18s. Too bad I couldn't trade today.

This whole trade was based on how I thought the price would act in the channel I drew. I ignored all the indicators at the bottom while I was deciding to make the trade.

So that's my incredibly long (and boring) post about my first short ever.

Not sure why the pic is so small. I think photobucket may have shrunk it.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v326/ironfistx/shortchart.jpg

2. Isn't this what they call channelling stocks?

Anyway, I am sure glad that it worked out for you this time.

3. Maybe. I don't know what it's called. But I think I like that more than all these indicators I have.

4. I cant speak for everyone but I think that is a TON of indicators. Since you said yourself you dont look at them why not get rid of them? You could try to stick to one - maybe RSI or MACD - and learn how it works, then maybe add some more.

5. S2007S

S2007S

not bad for your first short. Who do you use as your online broker?