First Post - Intro and First Swipe @ an Options Strategy

Discussion in 'Options' started by Denver Vol, Mar 25, 2013.

1. I'm a 26 year old real estate private equity analyst and have just started diving into the world of options. I have allocated ~20k to start trading with (though I obviously won't plow it all into an asset class for which I am a complete novice at one time).

Right now I am of the mindset that this market is massively frothy. I have exited nearly all of my long equity positions, and would like to execute a bearish strategy over the next 9-12 months, at least.

My initial thought is to buy short term, slightly out of the money index calls (most likely on the S&P), while simultaneously buying longer term (6-12 month maturity), further out of the money puts.

Thematically, I expect a fairly significant, broad market correction in the medium term, but I would like to maintain some small upside if this market gets even more out of whack. I want far more exposure to a market correction than I do to continued upward movement.

I'm here to deepen my knowledge of options trading and refine my strategy, so feel free to call what I have outlined above a complete joke. I'm looking forward to your responses.

2. Also, I'm aware that this post his highly vague at this point. My hope is that the general thought would get the discussion going and specifics would fall out from there.

3. Personally, if I were bearish on the overall market or a particular sector, or an individual stock..... I would wait for it to get to a price I'm more comfortable with, and then invest in it.
    Trying to pick a top is a VERY risky and dificult thing to do.
    Plenty of investors have been trying to do that for the past several months, and are now more stressed than you can imagine.

Just as investors who have been investing using strategies with "borders", probably thought they were at more risk of a decline in their stock or index than a rise, over the past several months.