Firewalls ?

Discussion in 'Networking and Security' started by babe714, Aug 18, 2001.

1. babe714

babe714

Do you experienced traders and computer users recommend use of a firewall. I have been trading for several years without one and have wondered just how secure my online accounts are .

2. JayS

JayS

3. fast

fast

I use ZoneAlarm, not just to protect myself, but also to keep my computer from being used for hostile attacks that shut down targeted servers and/or websites. Hackers can load programs onto unprotected computers and use these computers to send messages that create disrupting overloads. The computer owner has no idea this is happening. High power computers using broadband connections are hackers' favorites, but other computers also can be used. Hackers now have programs that rapidly seek unprotected computers.

I think, but am not sure, that the website of one or more online brokers was shutdown by a hostile attack during the last year or so. Does anyone remember this? Anyway, I do not want my computer to be used in this way.

Like JayS, I also use ZoneAlarm with both DSL and direct dial-up.

4. Babak

Babak

if you don't have a firewall you are just asking for it

get ZA and a good antivirus (and keep it upto date)

once you get ZA and configure it go to http://www.grc.com and test it before a hacker does (use the SHIELDS UP! on the site)

5. roger2

roger2

There are two very good, and free, personal firewalls available: ZoneAlarm (ZA) and Tiny Personal Firewall (TPF).

http://www.zonelabs.com
    http://www.tinysoftware.com

ZA is more well known. It is also easier to set-up, more automatic. ZA makes you look at an opening splash screen ad for about 30 seconds when you boot-up and there are links on the main set-up page for ZoneLabs' non-free products. Other than that ZA is free and easy.