FinTech App Ideas (to impress potential employers)

Discussion in 'App Development' started by Ewhar, Apr 2, 2020.

1. Ewhar

Ewhar

Hey guys,

I'm a full state javascript developer looking to move to move to NYC after putting together a portfolio app or two. Also, I'm waiting until the virus settles down, getting virused having fun is okay, walking down the street not okay.

I wanted to ask you guys for ideas on what would be a cool portfolio project that would impress fintech employers. I have a couple ideas and will share my thoughts on them

1. Trading System App. 3/10.
    I feel like this one is done to death. During an interview I can't see myself pitching the value of this very well. I'm a dev, not a trader.

2. Fraud monitoring app. 7/10.
    I think this one has a much broader appeal. The problem I see here is, that if I were to design it for merchants, the current stuff put out by Visa and the big players would probably surpass whatever I could build. So then my project would be designed for simplicity or cost cutting, say flagging foreign IPs or something basic like that.

3. Scoring app: 8/10
    Now this one is a little better. I could use something like Spokeo to get a profile on someone and look for trouble signs. I could score them, and return a score to the API consumer. Or "not found" if there's no match.

I welcome any/all ideas, thanks. This site is trading focused but anything in FinTech is fair game, frankly the less prestigious, easier to get into parts of the industry are more desirable to me as a new developer.

2. You are a software developer so you will want to promote your software development skills. The three projects you mention you seem to judge based on their business potential and business attractiveness. That seems to be a different goal to me. You may want to consider building something which shows off how good you are at coding/developing.

chami likes this.
  3. 2rosy

2rosy