Finding the best Strategy; Condors, Lizards, Butterflies

Discussion in 'Options' started by motterpaul, May 14, 2019.

1. I am somewhat new to the multi-leg, premium-selling style of using options. But the more I do the less I seem to like it.

I started out with a lot of Iron Condors because they seemed the safest, but I have a really hard time picking my legs. If a stocks moves very far in either direction you can find an option you thought was inconsequential starts losing a lot of money. But I was trying to sell premium.

So, if you are trying to sell premium, you want to get a credit with every trade. But I am finding it is very hard to find a balance of legs where I can collect premium and also not get hurt pretty badly if a stock moves too far. You have to pick your directions and hope for the right move.

For the people using multi-leg options - what are your favorite strategies for collecting premium but also for not getting too deep in trouble when the market makes big moves against your chosen direction? (aka your delta bias)

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

motterpaul,

I've posted this a number of times before. I doubt many believed me when I say this process is backward, that is why it does not work. You can't just want to do a spread, pick one and expect that you will make money. You are basically saying current option prices are wrong all the time and you can find excess returns but doing a random spread.

You need to have a process in place to have an expectation that a stock or index will or won't trade in a range. Once you determine that, you look at the available options and determine what best fits your expectations and risk criteria.

I hope that helps.

Bob

FSU, drm7, TheBigShort and 2 others like this.
  3. Google Lee Finberg and see how he does it. His website is SaferTrader.com

4. dozu888

dozu888