Finding a setup

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by ms_9901, May 12, 2004.

1. ms_9901

ms_9901

First let me say that I am a newbie to this board. This alone should attract the vultures. I went to the Dogpile search engine last week, looking for daytrading information, and ran across the thread about the MBA. That was hilarious, and I don't think he should have objected. If anyone thinks message board are brutal, wait till they start trading. I have read a lot in here and I will thank you all to quit using those big words. I also find it very informative here and MBA would have also, but you have to read between the lines. I also read, Transition loser to winner, I think it was and it was great. The fellow that has two mercedes paid for, and trades from exotic places around the world must be very lonely to come in here. He did not give any advice, just bragged. When I get to that point, either the tequila or women will keep me occupied. What I really want to know is how to find setups an hour or two after the open. I am limited on funds and only have about fifteen thousand. I have been setting up on trades that close at their high for the day. I have to limit this to stocks under $15.00 to have at least 1000 shares and be able to rise at least 70cents during the first few hours. I have other open positions which allow my account to have the necessary $25,000 in equtiy balance. My problem is after I have made the trade on the open I am not really sure how to find the next trade. I have access to real time data through my broker. I have large shoulders, no chip on my shoulder, I do not cry, so hit me with your best shot.

2. Lucrum

Lucrum

My advice : ignore the vultures, anyone who likes "tequila or women" can't be all bad.

3. Osman

Osman

if you're able to find setups on daily charts, use the same process with the 5 or 15min charts. Tweak your method to handle the different nuances of the shorter timespans.