filter for seasonal spreads

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by TraDaToR, Jun 8, 2010.

1. TraDaToR

TraDaToR

Hello,

I am dabbling in seasonal spreads lately. I studied a lot of calendar spreads over years of daily datas in ags, meats, metals and energy and I finally made a selection based on consistency of returns.

It seems seasonal spreads are best working in bearish/stagnating/slightly bullish outright scenario with contango, and poorly working in a 2008 style exploding inverted market . A lot of MRCI spreads featured in their encyclopedia had an awful year in 2008 because of this, so I apply a filter on "exploding markets" before taking a trade. Do you agree with this?

Do you see an other filter I should apply( fundamentals, cost of carry...)?

Thanks a lot.:)

2. 1) Bull-spreads ought to occur in rising trends and bear-spreads ought to occur in declining trends.
    2) Be more careful with metals and energy because they have been behaving more like "financial" commodities instead of "physical" commodities. :cool:

3. TraDaToR

TraDaToR

Thanks Nazzdack, I understand 1) because the front month is the most volatile, but from what I have tested, there can be profitable seasonal bull spreads even in bear markets whereas it is hard to find a profitable seasonal bear spread in a "real" bull market. Declining /stagnating markets seems better for spreads in general, bull and bear. Does that make sense?

An other thing I noticed is that usually across all commodities most bear spreads must be done before 1 month to expiration and bull spreads take place in the final period, just before first notice and even more after( but you can't trade as you don't want delivery of the front month). It's really clear on metals.