Fighting the unwinable fight.....?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by praetorian2, Sep 10, 2001.

1. Does anyone else here feel like they're fighting a monster that's just too big lately. I wake up this morning with the dow futs off over 100 pts and the sp's down 14 and change. Of course I'm pretty long overnight. After last week's carnage, you'd think that a monday gap up would be gamable.... Guess not. I've taken one short in a week now, and the long side just feels hopeless. I know that eventually I'm gonna hit some monster homers when this thing bounces, but it really blows to have to loose a few k every day before we get it right.... anyone else agree, or am I just overfrustrated lately with this market for those of us who only go long?

2. tuna

tuna

gotta be coming soon cheif,or its in serious trouble

3. Atlantic

Atlantic

although i'm new in the business and probably should not give any advice - there's on thing i always wanted to avoid:

do not consider the market as a monster or wild animal or whatever.

here is a good article about this:

http://www.ruthroosevelt.com/article_metaphor.html

i like the one with the "market as river ..." best - or "market as a friend ..." - like everybody - also the market has good times and bad times - you should like the market also in his bad times i would say.

4. dozu888

dozu888

P2, what is your rationale for doing longs only?

5. P2,

I feel your pain. :p Okay, let's just say I sure understand. The only positions that made any real money for me last week were all shorts...and I don't particularrl;y like shorting stox. I did a couple of "hopefully" long trades and got burned on almost every one of them.