Few questions in forex? I am new .

Discussion in 'Forex' started by rsikit, Aug 12, 2008.

1. Ivan maybe u can help me here, new to forex but not trading. I have traded most everything recently, trading the dow e minis as well as the euro but the cme futures euro. I basically use chart setups and intra day setupsto trade these and do not go home with a position. I have heard horror stories about fx and what not as I am sure you all have. I utilize retracements and breakouts as my main strategy off the charts. Using that, which to me is basic and simple, but I like the K.I.S.S. Keep it simple stupid! I found that too many indicators clouds the mind so I just mainly look at price and the trend and go from there. I was looking over the chart for the euro/usd. It seems to look like any other chart for any other financial instrument so I figure I can go in and put my normal strategies to the test, it should be alright. I have been trading for about 10 years now. I know risk control and money management thats how I stayed in the game so long. When I do trade the euro- cme future, I usually look to oil and just watch that trade as well as a heads up and obviously the equity markets. In anyones expierence does it seem like it would also move with energy? I prefer intra day trading call it scalping but not like I would do in the futures as much. But looking for a good chart setting, I used a 5 minute or so for longer time frame to see the trend but does anyone reccomend a good shorter time frame? I was using a tick chart set at 35 and 55 ticks but looking for something smoother, thanks again. I know its alot to ask but if you have to them I would appreciate it .

2. Er...thanks for posting in a new thread, but you didnt make it any clearer. So I'll take a stab at what you're looking for.