Fas Faz?

Discussion in 'ETFs' started by econometrics, Mar 8, 2010.

1. I am new to ETFs.
    I am wondering if anyone has tried buying/selling FAS/FAZ in pairs?

2. tommintj

tommintj

FAS and FAZ are inverse of each other. If you pair them meaning one long and the other short you are on the same side of the market ....that is unhedged and double exposed to movement on a 3x ETF....yipes!

3. short both equally> ? and time decay makes you money?

4. bat1

bat1

FAZ will be zero soon

it does not work!

5. It is not possible for it to ever reach zero. It will approach, but it can never reach zero.

6. FAS was at $12 during the March low 2009. (Reverse-split adjusted) It is at 800% a little over a year.

Did I miss something? Do they charge you something for holding it overnight? - because the theory of shorting equal amount of FAS and FAZ and hold long term does not seem to make money. Because FAZ may have dropped to only 12% of its value from March 2009, the max is that you will double your money on that leg. But on the FAS leg, you will be losing 700%?

I haven't done any extensive research on it. I think my thought is perhaps it would work only if you happen to adopt the strategy at a particular time. But won't work if you happen to start do this part trade from time X to time Y. e.g. it may work beautifully if you started to short both in middle of 2008 and hold til March 2009. If you start from March 2009 til now you will lose big? So perhaps it is not a strategy that will work universally at any time.

I have never held any FAZ/FAS overnight. What I just don't know is if they will charge you something other than the price. (Meaning like dividends... if you short a stock over the exdividend date your account will be debitted the dividend amount.)