Facing our demons

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by Old School, Nov 18, 2006.

1. As I sit here on a saturday night - very comfortably drunk :D, I thought I'd write my first post here in the psych room. As you can see from my join date, I am a ET newb, so first and foremost, greetings to my fellow traders who place an importance on the psychology of trading.

What I want to talk about tonight: Facing our demons

We all have 'em.

Can't pull the trigger, can't stick to my stops, averaging losers, getting out too soon, one bad loss ruins your day/wk/yr, you get the picture. Many traders suffer from it. Not much has changed over the last 2,000 years of trading. You can bet that traders back then also had similar demons. Why? Because human nature hasn't changed.

So what's the top ONE demon that keeps haunting you over and over?
    If you got rid of that demon, how much would your P&L improve?
    Would you give up your left nut to finally get over your demons?

Hmmm...I need another beer. :D

2. lol - of course being drunk, I forgot to start with my own demon.

My #1 demon over the years was large losses from a single trade.

I had no problem making money, I just couldn't keep it sometimes because at some point I'd blow up on a trade and give most of it back, sometimes into the red.

Yes, I face my dark side on every trade. I've just come to peace with it rather be driven by it.

3. "Never under estimate the dark side."

I don't like threads talking about specific trades/stocks/etc... I prefer the threads talking about the intangibles of trading. My battle cry when I was on the desk used to be...

"It's not that we don't know what to do, we can't do what we know."

I stole that from someone, I can't remember. age sucks. :mad:
    On the other hand, beer is good. :D

4. "Hey old school
    I have been trading from past 2 years and i thing i have learned that never average down ( loser average losers )