EZ to answer but for me....IRS related

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by PattiP, Nov 5, 2019.

1. PattiP

PattiP

First day for me on board at ET. I am fumbling with the SEARCH function and not helping myself. This had at one point many years ago beenaddressed ad nausea because of new rules and the divisiveness of opinions at the time, just as I had to take a hiatus from trading. How did the following subject get resolved please ? I just started trading again stocks weeks ago, and I expect stock options, too, doing the former at high volume monthly. I am getting mixed messages from what appear to be good sources addressing the issue from web searching.

Qtn 1 of 2
    Years ago, I took what became a consolidated 1099 b (I think, b) its ending sums of my stock trades and placed on one line of Schedule D what were all qualified for short term. Shazamm...done ! (I did no options then.) Is this still possible today?

Virtually all I am finding is to log all trades on Sch D, OR log them on Form 8949 Sales of....Capital Assets from which to sum them and put on a line on Sch D.

Is it otherwise still possible to do what I use to do years ago....taking the 1099 ending figures and placing them on one line of the D ? For the line´s date I use to put Jan 1 to Dec 31, 20xx. I never got a filing audit, so probably did not get under an examiner´s inspection on the matter. (Maybe I was examined randomly with no admonishments to me.)

H&R Block (no date with the article) states (below link...very short answers) at the last answer it is acceptable the way I did it...not citing hundred of lines of trades for the year..... if I read it correctly:

https://ttlc.intuit.com/community/t...-i-still-need-to-fill-out-form-8949/00/612613

Qtn 2 of 2
    I am trading with a brokerage using APEX clearing house. I either read or heard its 1099 b will not give sums at the end of its citing the options traded. So I had better keep a log on those ?