Extremely newb question on USD/JPY

Discussion in 'Forex' started by AyeYo, Aug 10, 2009.

1. AyeYo

AyeYo

I'm very new to forex, just opened a practice account to try to learn it. There's something I can't understand though, and I've been upable to find anything explaining it.

We'll take USD/CHF for example:

Bid - 1.08424
    Ask - 1.08466

Difference of 4.2 pips, simple enough. On a single, 100k lot, you're looking at a $42 spread. Simple.

Now... USD/JPY:

Bid - 96.955
    Ask - 96.974

Difference of... 19 pips??? It doesn't even read out to the fourth decimal. On a single, 100k lot, I'm looking at a $190 spread???? That can't possibly be right, and I know it's not right because the trade p/l doesn't work out like that.

What am I missing/looking at wrong? Forgive the blatany stupidity, I'm new (like all of two days) to this.

2. Don't worry about it, everyone needs to start learning somewhere/somehow, it's good that you ask questions, otherwise you'll never get anywhere.

The answer:

Any JPY based pairs round pips to the tenths, not the thousandths, digit. So in your example the Bid is 96.95 and Ask is 96.97; for all practical purposes the difference is 97.4-95.5, or 1.9 pips.

All non JPY pairs are based on the thousandth digit, and hence you are correct about the 4.2 pip difference in USD/CHF.

3. AyeYo

AyeYo

Thank you, much appreciated.

Another question...

Buy, 10k lot - .085731 = $8,573.10

Currently - .085689 = $8,568.90

I get -$4.20. My p/l is listed at -$7.93. What gives?

Seems to be staying like that as well, significantly higher than it should be. Am I calculating wrong again?

It evens shows the correct pip decrease, but the p/l doesn't seem to correspond. With a 10k lot, each pip should be $1, right... or wrong?

4. i dont know which pair you traded here but from the quote and date it looks like EURGBP.