Explain how it went wrong?

Discussion in 'Options' started by res123, May 12, 2018.

1. res123

res123

Hi All-

This morning, to my horror, I find a total of 100 shares of AAPL stock is sold short. I never triggered this transaction as I am long/Bullish on AAPL.

I noticed that I am only seeing an open long call option, which was supposed to be a credit call spread on AAPL. I owned some shares of AAPL (less than 100), not only am I seeing the stock I owned as sold, but an additional stock sold amounting to a total of 100.

I am new to option trading, mostly sticking to selling options and rolling up and down the spreads of the iron condor. What could this be? Did I get assigned? How do I rectify this, as I do not want my stock sold and certainly don't want to be short stock? Any suggestions?

2. From your statement, the order you placed may have been the one you intended, but failed to consider the risk of your short leg being assigned! -- This is more serious, and may suggest you are making trades without understanding what you are doing (the risks of each trade). You may wish to cover your short positions ASAP to protect you from a possible move up on the AAPL next week. (Review the strike of your short leg for your order and compare with price range on day of assignment -- also note that yesterday was x-dividend day for aapl that you may have failed to consider with your original order)

spindr0 likes this.
    • A few weeks ago you sold a 185/190 credit call spread - OTM at the time.
    • AAPL closed at $188.59 on expiry day.
    • ITM short 185 calls auto exercised - 100 AAPL shares sold at $185.00.
    • OTM long 190 calls expired worthless.

Monday morning buy 100 AAPL shares.

3. lindq

lindq

Failing to understand all the risk parameters of a position is, IMO, the leading cause of complete meltdowns by many new traders.

That's a lesson I learned the hard way many years ago.