Experineced Traders: What are the best training programs on the Street for newbies?

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by StartUpTrader, Oct 24, 2010.

1. Experienced traders, I am a start up trader with limited capital. I am willing to pay whatever I have to in order to get a quality training program that allows time for new traders to hone their skills through deliberate practice, simulation, and trading mentors with access to firm capital and affordable commissions with decent payout later. What are the firms in New York that offer this opportunity? Any experience with these firms? And, what is the best value (as far as best training and start up opportunity for your money) firm in the business?

2. Disclaimer: the following is my opinion only and may not be shared by others.

The training programs found on the street are generally nothing more than basic charting and rebating techniques that very little research will pull up for you. If you still feel more comfortable being mentored, some firms in NY like Broad Street Trading, SMB Capital, and Affinity trading offer high-end (5k+) programs solely for education.

If I were you, I would look into firms where your money will be a deposit into an account and training will be free. This is the best model for the trader. I believe Capital Traders Group (2500 minimum), CY Group (5,000 minimum), and Keystone (2000 minimum) have programs, although the reviews are mixed on that one. The former two seem to have a solid rep and let you test the waters with a low minimum deposit. The difference being that any training course will not allow to pull out your money - your losses. A deposit can be returned minus your losses if you are unhappy with the firm. Most will claim it is a "membership fee" or a fee for training, when in reality they are just trying to serve you the same shit on a golden platter (SMB Capital charging 8k).