Experienced Traders Please take a glance: Identify this system or methodology...

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by dr0833, Nov 24, 2007.

1. dr0833

dr0833

Hi I'm currently a student and taking a course in TA. The processor of the class is a trader and gave us his an assignment to see if we could identify what he is doing in one of his trades from a while ago. He usually holds positions for a few days to 6 weeks (occasionally), with most trades being 2-4 weeks. Apparently he has been profitable for 21 years. This is one of his long trades. I have done some analysis and tried to identify what hes doing but not really sure. I know the stocks are obviously in a strong uptrend near there 52 weeks highs. I'm hoping there are some experienced traders that can help me dissect what my professors is doing. You can probably just go back and look at historical charts to see this trade. I attached a chart. The open high low close is wrong on the chart.

Symbol:BAMM
    Date of trade: Buy: 9/28/2006 @ 18.01 O:18.50, H: 18.50, L: 18.01, C: 18.34. Sell: 10/19/2006 @ 19.47 O:19.36, H: 19.71, L: 19.14, C: 19.46,

His Trading Strategy:
    -----------------------------
    Round lot shares usually between 500-5000
    8.5% stops
    20% profit target
    Av. Volume > 100k
    Sell if close < 10 SMA for 3 days
    Volume probably plays a role
    price cycles of some sort may play a role

He may use these or a variation of these, such as when bollinger bandwith contracts, and moey flow has been increasing for 3 weeks, etc, etc, but not sure:

Bandwith
    Moneyflow

2. YoungOne

YoungOne

If you don't mind me asking, which school is it that you are attending. As far as answering your question, that looked more like a short than a long to me. Until about 17.55ish. Just a bounce off of resistance. He got lucky it turned around and broke that resistance at 18.50. Good luck.

3. MGJ

MGJ

Code:
    Indicators: HighestHigh(60 days), SimpleMovingAverage(5 days)