Expected profit per trade per share for intraday retail stock traders

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by clearinghouse, Jan 22, 2011.

1. Some Questions:

1) For you guys who are successful retail traders trading on something like IB or TradeStation, what's the average profit per trade that your trades get? I'm more interested in stock traders, but I wouldn't mind hearing from guys who trade futures either.

2) How long does your typical strategy last before it bites the dust?

3) How expensive are the stocks you trade? $10 stocks, $50 stocks? GOOG?

I'm strictly interested in the profit per trade of the guy who is successfully trading out of his home, self-employed, and not managing anyone else's money. How many of you guys are out there? Are you a dying breed?

2. DHOHHI

DHOHHI

1) 2 answers here: (1) day trades I typically go for a nickel to a dime profit per trade (2) swing trades I obviously look for larger profits

2) I've been trading as my only income for 15 years this April and have used a number of methods. But the approach I've used the last 7-8 years is to trade the same stocks over and over since I know the typical intra-day trading range. I also tend to trade stocks with a higher beta.

3) I typically trade stocks under $25 and often trade stocks under $10

I go for singles and doubles and don't try for home runs and I think it's my focus on preserving capital and risk management that has allowed me to do this for 15 years.

I do manage $$ for 2 other people but I do it at no charge, so no financial benefit for me. I typically buy the same stocks in their accounts as mine scaled to reflect the respective amount of $$$ in each account.

Edit: Just noticed this is under "Automated Trading" -- my trading is NOT automated.

3. Automated or not, very nicely done. Thanks for answering.

4. pdw24

pdw24