Exit criterion

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by harshakns, Mar 9, 2019.

How do you manage your exit? Please vote what you actually do

1. 1. All out after reaching my profit target. No trailing stop loss. stop loss is fixed.

20.0%
  2. 2. All out after reaching my profit target. With trailing stop loss

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. 3. Take profits whenever i like.

26.7%
  4. 4. Trail stop loss and let the market run.

13.3%
  5. 5. Take a portion of profits even before it reaches desired profit target.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. 6. Others (please mention in the comment)

40.0%
  1. harshakns

harshakns

Hi,
    I am a day trader, i have a strategy in place which makes decent return and i am happy with it but.... a lot of times i feel like i am leaving the money on the table when my supposedly profitable trade turns into a breakeven or loser. I feel like bad that i haven't squeezed that money from the market.

I tried taking a portion of profit or trailing sl but none of those on longer run produce satisfactory results as all out after reaching profit target. Do i need to assume that this is part of the game and leave it and move on or do you have any suggestions??

Nobert likes this.
  2. Take half off at profit target, let rest run trailing stop ~ breakeven. Method from Trading In The Zone.

qlai and Nobert like this.
  3. harshakns,

Good poll.

I struggle with this as well. In addition, I trade one contract which makes the struggle twice as challenging.

I try to calm my thinking on exiting a trade, by being objective and logical about my exiting. I always have a predefined profit target level pending with a limit order. Since I know I struggle with being patient waiting on profit target to hit, I have trade management rules that start trailing after X amount of ticks. This way, if price reversers, I exit the trade with a profit. In addition, I journal the profit I would have made, had I just let the trade exit at predefined target.