Execution Trader Jobs ???

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by mbtrade, May 11, 2009.

1. mbtrade

mbtrade

Any tips for a person trying to get a job as an execution trader?

I have several years of prop trading experience. I left trading in 2006 to go back to school. I currently hold a BS in Finance, graduated Magna Cum Laude, and have a good math and computer science base. I have been trying to get into an execution trading position. Unfortunately, I did not graduate from a top tier school (even though I am confident I am smart enough to have been very competitive at any of them), which I believe is one of the reasons I can not get an interview. I am located in NY (Long Island) and I am willing to commute or move to any place in the tri-state area.

Any help someone can give such as companies I may not know of, headhunters to speak with, what to write on my resume, or anything else you can think of would be appreciated.

Also, I am thinking of going back to school to get a technical degree, or maybe just the required classes to qualify for a MFE program. Any tips on how whether this approach would increase my chances of one day becoming a paid (not prop) trader?

2. Surdo

Surdo

The only way you will ever get a job as an "execution trader" in this current market is through a family member or fraternity brother that owes you a solid.

In other words, those jobs are filled before the job becomes vacant.

Call everybody and everybody you know that works on a trading desk and beg for the coffeeboy or Autex Operator position, and one day you might start answering phones and you can call yourself "trader"!

3. Hmmmm

[​IMG]

4. the1

the1

I've been trading for 2 decades and turning the corner is easily the best and the worst thing that ever happened to me. If I had to do it all over again I couldn't run fast enough from the markets. Take it from a guy who has been in the trenches for a long time -- Do Something Else.